
Odell Castle was a medieval castle in the village of Odell, Bedfordshire – no traces of it now survive.
Odell Castle was built after the Norman Conquest by Walter le Fleming or de Wahul, the Count of Flanders, who acquired property across Bedfordshire, which formed a major barony. The castle was located on the southern side of the River Ouse and initially took the form of a motte and bailey castle.
The property continued in the possession of the de Wahul family, and the barony was required to provide a castle-guard – to the royal castle of Rockingham in Northamptonshire. A stone keep was built at Odell Castle, possibly in the 12th century. By the 16th century, the antiquarian Leland described the castle as ruined.
The site was redeveloped in 1623 by Sir William Alston, who built a new house incorporating the remains of the castle keep; he also landscaped the grounds, probably destroying the defensive earthworks. The house was significantly expanded by Lady Wolstenholme in the 18th century and further developed in the 19th. In 1931, however, the house caught fire and was completely gutted. In 1962, the current property was constructed, reusing the remaining stone. No trace of the medieval castle survives today.